Halal Greek and Italian Food at Milano Foodworks

Milano FoodWorks

On Woodbine Avenue, located near Frankie Tomatto’s, is a new joint called Milano FoodWorks that offers halal Greek and Italian food at extremely reasonable prices. I first heard of Milano Foodworks when Halal Foodie mentioned them on Twitter. It caught my eye because it was on way home from work and it made me ponder of the endless possibilities of take-out on days when cooking dinner was out of the question!

Milano FoodWorks

We’ve ordered from Milano Foodworks on two occasions. The first time, we ordered four meals consisting of Chicken Souvlaki Sticks Meal ($9.73), Chicken Cutlet Meal ($9.73) and two Veal Meals ($9.73). Each meal includes a Greek salad, rice, roasted potatoes, and pita bread. Even if the rice and roasted potatoes didn’t fill you up, you would have enough leftovers for lunch and maybe even dinner the next day!

Milano FoodWorks

The Chicken Cutlet and the Veal were a good choice. However, we found the batter for both the Chicken Cutlet and Veal were oddly similar and wished they had their own distinct flavours. The Chicken Souvlaki was nicely marinated and seasoned and a heavy contender for the best dish that day.

The Greek salad was amazing! The simple balance of the dressing and feta cheese was perfect. The roasted potatoes on the other hand had us confused. When we thought of roasted potatoes, we assumed we were getting oven-roasted, spice-kissed potatoes. What we got instead looked like steamed or boiled potatoes with gravy. It was different, but they still tasted pretty good in conjunction with the rice.

Milano FoodWorks

On the second occasion, we ordered a Philly Cheese Steak ($8.95) and Grilled Chicken Breast Sandwich ($7.36) with a side of Greek salad (since I devoured it the first time!) and roasted potatoes. With both of these sandwiches, we had nothing but compliments. The sauce and the cheese in the Philly Cheese Steak was well balanced, while the Grilled Chicken Breast Sandwich welcomed us with its own unique taste compared to the normal mom-and-pop or franchised joints that we were so accustomed to.

All in all, the food was what we expected with wholesome portions and all reasonably priced. Just a side note, since Milano Foodworks caters to a diverse clientele within the Woodbine and Denison business area, their food items may seem a bit bland. Not to fret, just ask for a side of hot sauce and spice up your meal to your heart’s content!

I’ve also learned from the owners of Milano Foodworks that they cater for any-sized parties. You can also take advantage of their location which can comfortably seat around 40-50 people!

Milano Foodworks

 

Shabnam is a restaurant reviewer for Halal Foodie, follow her on twitter at @Shabz_1221

Milano FoodWorks
7181 Woodbine Ave., Markham, ON
Monday to Saturday 11:00am-10:00pm
Telephone:(905)477-0777

*Meat supplier as of  December 11, 2012 is: Sargent Farms / Kabul Bazaar (Midland and Lawrence). Meat supplied was verbally assured by owner of the store and/or staff on the date of this review. Please verify to ensure supplier/ownership has not changed.

Milano Foodworks on Urbanspoon

 

By: December 11, 2012

28 Comments


  • I didn’t see anything in regards to meat coming from halal source or muslim owners. If you could clarify please.

    Thanks for the review.


    • Halal Foodie on December 11, 2012

      The owners are Muslim and meat comes from a reputable source (in our opinion). We encourage our readers to look into that on their own as well just in case there are changes between the review date and when you actually visit! Please read our “Read This” tab if you need more info on our stance on halal and the restaurants we review. Thank you so much for your comment and for visiting the site!


    • Just to clarify on what Halal Foodie stated: The owner is Muslim and as well, please make sure that you verify for yourself when you visit. Things, sometimes, do change and we may not be able to keep up with it! Make sure you let us know what you thought when you decide to go!


  • Yeah!!! Another Halal restaurant!! Can’t wait to give it a try..thx for the review!


    • Halal Foodie on December 11, 2012

      Thank YOU Asiya! Our readers are what keep us going! Let us know what you think about the place!


  • First off – great site! Just a suggestion and you might have already considered this…but would it be possible to post the meat source/supplier of the particular restaurant at the footnote of each of your reviews (perhaps with a precautionary note that people should still confirm themselves)?


    • Halal Foodie on December 28, 2012

      Thanks! It’s a great idea to list meat supplier. I used to do this when I first started but had a few negative outcomes even though there were disclaimers in place. If I can figure out a way where readers aren’t holding my site accountable when restaurants aren’t totally honest or change ownership, then I will add meat source for sure. I do think it’s really important and since before we review a place we always check regardless, it would be simple to do! Thanks so much again for your comment!


  • I think what your doing is great! There have been numerous times when I’ve pondered with my family where to go for dinner and only to end up at the same places over and over again since we don’t know of many places that are halal….good stuff! Posting the meat source good idea.


    • Halal Foodie on January 5, 2013

      Thank you Aishah! Ok – I will add meat source (with disclaimers!) Thank you for the suggestion, important to me what everyone wants from the site!


      • yup – adding the meat source with a disclaimer would be really good! particularly for this restaurant above – sounds interesting and a little different from the typical halal establishments…great work overall on the site!


        • Halal Foodie on January 11, 2013

          Done! I’ve added Milano FoodWorks meat supplier (Iqbal Meats) with disclaimer :) We’ll do our best to include that on all reviews going forward inshaAllah!


  • Assalamalaykum, love, love and more love for your website. Thank you for what you are doing, it is much needed. Just wondering if you consider Maple Lodge halal? This is very important to a lot of people. Thankyou


    • Halal Foodie on January 28, 2013

      Wa alykum salaam,

      Thank you SO much for your kind words! InshaAllah we hope to bring more content about halal food in Toronto.

      As for Maple Lodge, Allah knows best if it’s halal/haram, but from research and from listening to both sides of the machine vs. hand slaughter issue, I do not eat machine slaughtered meat personally. From my knowledge, both Maple Lodge chicken and Al-Safa chicken are from mechanically slaughtered sources.

      I have also been very interested in other points of halal, such as treatment to animals, etc., and have been very interested in organic meat as a result. InshaAllah I hope that explains my position a little better :)


  • FYI: I just spoke to the butcher at Kabul Bazaar today and he said that they have not supplied the meat for the past month


    • Halal Foodie on February 26, 2013

      Brother/sister – avoid asking the staff as they don’t realize the seriousness of what info they’re freely giving out. Also – although this is somewhat free space and you can pretty much post your opinion, we should all really be careful when posting “he said/she said” sort of info without checking properly. You are impacting another Muslim’s business if your info is false. Just something for everyone to think about. We’re not trying to play the blame game here, we’re all just trying to eat some good halal food :)


  • you should ask the owner of the kabul bazaar .his name is Naseer.not the staff.


  • Very disappointed. The breaded chicken in the Chicken Cutlet sandwich had a texture and taste similar to rubber in my opinion. In fact, I threw out the chicken and just ate the bun and toppings. (I was hungry). I can’t comment on their other food though. Hopefully it’s better. But I likely won’t be back.

    Also, I didn’t see any halal certification signs. Anyone who goes there may want to confirm this for other guests. There was however, a halal symbol on the front door. The server also confirmed that the food was halal as well.

    Just to clarify, it is not my intention to cast any negativity towards this establishment, its owners or employees. People should make up their own minds. This was my experience. Hopefully your experience will be better and you will share your honest critique.


  • valerie neofotistos on March 27, 2013

    This is my favourite article.

    I always wanted to know if there were any halal Greek restaurants in the area. Thanks!


  • We’re really sorry to hear that your experience was not up to par when you visited Milano Foodworks. When I reviewed the restaurant, the food, in my opinion, was different and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Hopefully, you do give them another try in the future, inshallah.

    As for the halal certification signs, from my understanding, the butcher or meat shop where you purchase your meat from doesn’t always provide a certificate. I’m sorry if there was any confusion regarding that on my front.

    Jazakhallah for your comment and thanks for reading our reviews! :)


  • Wow this place looks so good definitely have to try it! Just one note about the food being bland ; some cultures just don’t use a variety of spices due to tradition and taste. Italian cuisine is known for oregano, basil, garlic, Greek is also oregano and fenugreek, lemon, garlic etc. not to say Greek and Italian cuisine don’t have their share of spicy dishes, there usually put in the name of he dish in the native language ex. Spicy chicken. Mediterranean cuisine is more about the natural flavours of meat of meat and veg just slightly enhanced. But of course there’s always hot sauce to make it spicy:)


  • Tried this place today after reading your reviews. I had the Philly cheese steak combo and my wife had the chicken suvlaki. Portions were generous, taste was great..!! Nice place to sit and eat. Owner was around and was accessible. He assured me to the authenticity of the meat and they DO NOT SERVE PORK..!! Period!!
    Prices were a bit high but service was really good. The staff actually asks how everything was..which is a big plus in my books.
    Only down side is that there are no “halal” signs posted or none that we saw. We basically have to take the brothers’ word.


  • Honda Driver on July 15, 2013

    I recently went to Milano’s a few times and was impressed the quality, quantity, and value of the food served there. The food is quite tasty with large portions given and has a home-made taste to it. The guys working there are fun and friendly. They are having a special during Ramadan so be sure to check them out!


  • I went to Milano Foodworks for the very first time and I was talking to the manager over there. Asking him if I could have Philly steak sandwich and then he suggested me to try the Philly steak meal which will be added onto the menu at 2014. He let me try the meal and it tasted AMAZING I’ve never had anything that tasted as good as that. The meal had Greek salad, french fries, Philly steak, pita bread, and tzatziki sauce and price was reasonable. It also had a side order which was Greek fries and that tasted amazingly AWESOME. The restaurant was clean and organized, the employees were really kind, nice. This is now my favourite restaurant.


  • I have been to this restaurant only twice due to the distance from city i live, the food is awesome and its 100% halal and the owner is not only a Muslim but also helps out the community at the Masajid during Ramadan break fast as well as special events etc , don’t worry of the halal stuff , its 100% authentic
    .


  • Been here twice the Philly Cheese steak is amazing the portion is large and his salads are really good too. The owner is a practicing muslim who helps out in the community. So dont worry about halal. Because of the divers clientele he serves cant put too many Halal signs.


Tell us what you think